West Bengal imposes strict lockdown in nine containment zones including Kolkata. Here’s what travelling to and from these areas will look like. By Tanvi Jain


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by zeeshan jawed (@zeeeboyy) on

West Bengal has once again announced strict lockdown starting July 9, sharp at 05:00 pmin nine containment zones including Kolkata, four in north Bengal, and five south and other adjoining areas. The duration is yet to be known, but a lockdown is already in place till July 31. The current order was issued by home secretary Alapan Bandyopadhyay, in light of highest single spike in COVID-19 cases each day for four straight days — reportedly an addition of 850 infections and 25 deaths. 

The state has so far recorded at least 23,837 cases of Coronavirus, and at least 804 deaths. Kolkata has 33 containment zones including Phoolbagan, Ultadanga, Hudco, KankurgachiBhowaniporeBeliaghataBijoygarh, Alipore, New Alipore, Jadavpur,  MukundapurAjaynagar, and Kasba. Whereas, South 24 Parganas has 155 and North 24 Parganas has 219 such zones. 


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by photography📷 (@loveforphotography2020) on

As per the order, all offices both government as well as private, non-essential activities, congregation, transportation, and markets, industrial and training activities will not be allowed to operate from 05:00 pm, July 9. Movement of people living in the containment zone will be strictly regulated as per the government’s order. The authorities will also try to arrange for home delivery for people living in these zones. 

Moreover, if one needs to travel for an emergency either outside the containment zone or outside the state, in both cases, he/she will need to travel with an e-pass. Furthermore, Kolkata has also banned flights from six cities namely, Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Chennai and Ahmedabad, from July 6 to July 19. 


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Kolkata Sutra™ | কলকাতা সূত্র™ (@kolkatasutra) on

It is informed that no flights shall operate to Kolkata from Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Chennai & Ahmedabad from 6th to 19th July 2020 or till further order whichever is earlier. Inconvenience caused is regretted,” Kolkata Airport recently mentioned in a tweet. It further said that the decision has been taken upon request of state government to restrict movement from high prevalence cities of Coronavirus cases in order to contain its spread. 

Related: West Bengal Extends Lockdown Till July 31 And This Is What Travellers Need To Know