Check out our guide on where to spend your long weekends each month in this New Year. By Shrimayee Thakur

January 2020

January 1 (Wednesday) – New Year

January 2 (Thursday) – Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti

January 3 (Friday) – Take the day off

January 4 (Saturday)

January 5 (Sunday)

From Delhi:

Kausani, Uttarakhand: An ideal winter destination, Kausani is famous for its scenic beauty. It is also enchanted by Anasakti Ashram — Mahatma Gandhi’s residence in 1929 where he stayed for a few days.

From Mumbai:

Panchgani, Maharashtra: January is one of the most ideal months to visit this tranquil hill station nestled between five hills of the Western Ghats.

From Kolkata:

Mandarmani, West Bengal: Head to Mandarmani for a beach weekend getaway. If you ask us, it’s a great way to kick start the year!

From Bengaluru:

Madikeri, Karnataka: Explore this hilly paradise, which offers adventure activities such as trekking, hiking and river rafting.

February 2020

February 21 (Friday) – Maha Shivratri

February 22 (Saturday)

February 23 (Sunday)

February 24 (Monday) – Take the day off

From Delhi:

Alwar, Rajasthan: Overlooked by the hype around Jaipur, Jaisalmer, and Jodhpur, Alwar is a gorgeous offbeat getaway in winter.

From Mumbai:

Bhandardara, Maharashtra: Another lesser-known destination, Bhandardara is full of lush greenery, and waterfalls. It is even home to numerous species of fauna.

From Kolkata:

Bishnupur, West Bengal: Immerse yourself in the artistic history of Bishnupur with its terracotta temples and traditional saris.

From Bengaluru:

Gokarna, Karnataka: Visit this peaceful beach haven and explore its natural wonders and heritage temples.

March 2020

March 7 (Saturday)

March 8 (Sunday)

March 9 (Monday) – Take the day off

March 10 (Tuesday) – Holi

From Delhi:

Mathura and Vrindavan, Uttar Pradesh: These twin cities are bustling with activity during Holi because of their association with the Hindu God, Krishna.

From Mumbai:

Ganpatipule, Maharashtra: The weather in this town during March is perfect. Not too hot, and not too humid. Enjoy the local culture and cuisines, relax on the beach, or visit one of the most prominent temples in Maharashtra — Swayambhu Ganesh Temple.

From Kolkata:

Tajpur, West Bengal: Probably one of the most unexplored beaches in India, Tajpur is unique due to its shape. The beach is an inverted crescent which also offers an unusual view of the sea.

From Bengaluru:

Ooty, Tamil Nadu: This resort town is wildly popular for its spectacular views, lovely weather, and tea and chocolates.

April 2020

View this post on Instagram

Heaven 💚

A post shared by Jitendra Sahu (@iamjitzz) on

April 2 (Thursday) – Ram Navami

April 3 (Friday) – Take the day off

April 4 (Saturday)

April 5 (Sunday)

April 6 (Monday) – Mahavir Jayanti

(and)

April 10 (Friday) – Good Friday

April 11 (Saturday)

April 12 (Sunday)

From Delhi:

Abbott Mount, Uttarakhand: This tiny hamlet is perfect if you want solitude. Take the opportunity to do some bird watching and trekking.

From Mumbai:

Malshej Ghat, Maharashtra: Beat the heat at this beautiful ghat, which is also a favourite spot for trekkers.

From Kolkata:

Kalimpong, West Bengal: Located near the Teesta river, this town used to be the trading hub for Tibet in the British era.

From Bengaluru:

Kudremukh, Karnataka: Kudremukh Peak is Karnataka’s highest peak, while Kudremukh National Park is perfect for wildlife enthusiasts.

May 2020

May 1 (Friday) – Labour Day/Maharashtra Day

May 2 (Saturday)

May 3 (Sunday)

(and)

May 7 (Thursday) – Buddha Purnima

May 8 (Friday) – Take the day off

May 9 (Saturday)

May 10 (Sunday)

From Delhi:

Darang, Himachal Pradesh: Darang finds its roots in the 16th century, and was even mentioned in the Mahabharata. Beat the heat in Darang’s tea gardens and surround yourself with the aroma of fresh tea leaves.

From Mumbai:

Palghar, Maharashtra: Free from the crowds and noise that more popular beaches draw, Palghar is serene. To delve into history, visit the Kelva and Shirgaon forts.

From Kolkata:

Daringbadi, Odisha: Popularly known as the Kashmir of Odisha, Daringbadi is a village in the Kandhamal district.

From Bengaluru:

Puducherry: A small town influenced by its French colonisers, Puducherry has pristine beaches and delicious food.

August 2020

View this post on Instagram

🙃🙂

A post shared by Biswarup Nandi (@_b_nandi_) on

August 1 (Saturday)

August 2 (Sunday)

August 3 (Monday) – Rakshabandhan

(and)

August 12 (Wednesday) – Janmashtami

August 13 (Thursday) – Take the day off

August 14 (Friday) – Take the day off

August 15 (Saturday) – Independence Day

August 16 (Sunday)

August 17 (Monday) – Parsi New Year

August 18 (Tuesday)

August 19 (Wednesday) – Muharram

August 20 (Thursday) – Onam

From Delhi:

Bharatpur, Rajasthan: Visit the UNESCO listed Keoladeo National Park to see the different species of birds or the nearby temple to spot rare species of turtles.

From Mumbai:

Karjat, Maharashtra: The city looks especially beautiful in the monsoon season. Don’t forget to check out the Kondana caves, where age-old man-made Buddhist caves are constructed on wooden patterns under a mountain.

From Kolkata:

Ajodhya Hills, West Bengal: Located in the Purulia district, Ajodhya hills are emerald hills with pristine lakes. Visit Pakhi Pahar (translating to birds hill) to see artist Chitta Dey and his team’s ‘birds on the face of a hummock’ artwork.

From Bengaluru:

Nisargadhama Islands, Kodagu: A small island overflowing with diverse flora and fauna, Nisargadhama has ideal conditions during the monsoon to spot wildlife.

October 2020

October 2  (Friday) – Gandhi Jayanti

October 3 (Saturday)

October 4 (Sunday)

(and)

October 29 (Thursday) – Id-e-Milad

October 30 (Friday) – Take the day off

October 31 (Saturday)

November 1 (Sunday)

From Delhi:

Jim Corbett National Park, Uttarakhand: One of the oldest and best national parks in India, Corbett National Park is a haven for wildlife enthusiasts. It is also one of the few places in India where one can find a sizeable population of tigers.

From Mumbai:

Alibag, Maharashtra: If you are up for water sports, Alibag is a perfect weekend getaway. It is considered one of the most adventure-packed regions in Maharashtra.

From Kolkata:

Mongpong, West Bengal: Mongpong is an ideal place to gaze upon the beauty of the Eastern Himalayas.

From Bengaluru:

Mysuru, Karnataka: Mysuru offers something for both — the history buff and the nature lover in you.

November 2020

View this post on Instagram

#टकमक टोक, किल्ले रायगड #रायगड, सह्याद्रीच्या अभेद्य कातळ कडा #Raigad_fort_Trail_Photography . . ➖➖➖➖➖➖➖ ➖➖➖➖➖ Fort: Raigad 🏰 Location: Raigad District 🗺️ Height: 4400 ft Grade: Medium ➖➖➖➖➖➖➖ ➖➖➖➖➖ #MarathaEmpire #Sahyadri #mountain #दुर्गदुर्गेश्वर #रायगड #adventure #maharashtrafort #trekking 🐾 #trekforlife #maharashtra #TakeMemoriesLeaveFootprints 🐾 #hiking 👣 #राजधानी #शिवइतिहास #सह्याद्री #पाचाड #NeverStopExploring #hikingadventures🧗 #explore #outdoorphotography #outdoor #naturephotography #naturelover 🏞️ #wanderlust #भटकंती #नुसतंचट्रेकिंग 🤸 #traveller🏍️🚗 ➖➖➖➖➖➖➖ ➖➖➖➖➖

A post shared by मी आणि माझी भटकंती (@mi_aani_majhi_bhatkanti) on

November 13 (Friday) – Dhanteras

November 14 (Saturday) – Diwali

November 15 (Sunday)

November 16 (Monday) – Bhaiduj

(and)

November 28 (Saturday)

November 29 (Sunday)

November 30 (Monday) – Guru Nanak Jayanti

From Delhi:

Amritsar, Punjab: Home to the Golden Temple, Amritsar is one of the most sacred places for the Sikh community. Head here on Diwali to witness its celebration of the popular festival.

From Mumbai:

Raigad, Maharashtra: The city was the erstwhile capital of the legendary Maratha king Shivaji. Raigad Fort is the primary attraction of this place.

From Kolkata:

Kurseong, West Bengal: This little hill station is also called the Land of White Orchids, and will take your breath away.

From Bengaluru:

Coorg, Karnataka: Only one overnight journey away from Bengaluru, this is the perfect place to relax. Coorg has three wildlife sanctuaries and a national park for exploring.

December 2020

View this post on Instagram

• • • • • • Location – Hampi, Karnataka. . Bangalore – 340 km Mangalore – 395 km Shivamogga – 215 km Hubli – 165 km Belgaum – 270 km ➖➖ Photo Credits – @vj_bellary ➖➖ Places to visit around . 1 – Matanga Hill (2 km) 2 – Hampi Archeological Ruins. 3 – Monkey Temple (22 km) 4 – Hippie Island ➖➖ ➖➖ Follow Us – @go_karnataka ➖➖ ➖➖ Use #gokarnataka and tag us to get featured. ➖➖ #gokarnataka #hampi #udupi #malpe #karnataka #belgaum #karnatakatourism #photography #ballary #hubli #mysore #shivamogga #indianphotographyclub #mangalore #incrediblekarnataka #incredibleuttarakannada #travelphotography #nammakarnatakaphotographers #photographersofkarnataka

A post shared by Go Karnataka (@go_karnataka) on

December 25 (Friday) – Christmas

December 26 (Saturday)

Sunday, December 27 (Sunday)

(and)

December 31 (Thursday) – Take the day off

January 1, 2021 (Friday) – New Year

January 2, 2021 (Saturday)

January 3, 2021 (Sunday)

From Delhi:

Agra, Uttar Pradesh: Last, but not the least on the list for Delhi, Agra is a city steeped in the rich history of India. Explore Fatehpur Sikri, Tomb of I’timād-ud-Daulah, Agra Fort and the iconic Taj Mahal.

From Mumbai:

Matheran, Maharashtra: This hill station is the perfect place to visit in the winter. It is known for its picturesque hills and waterfalls.

From Kolkata:

Jaldapara National Park, West Bengal: Head to this national park to see some of the rarest species of India.

From Bengaluru:

Hampi, Karnataka: Once the capital of the ancient Vijayanagara Empire, this is one of the most exotic locations in India. Hampi has a lot to offer — explore the ruins of the once-great empire, marvel at its architectural beauty, or soak in the scenic views.

Related: Top 5 Colourful Beaches Around The Word: 2020 Travel Bucket List!