Editor’s note: The global COVID-19 crisis has left each one of us deeply affected and we want to help. Burda Media India has organised a fundraising campaign to #FightBackWithTesting and donating RT-PCR test kits to the worst-affected areas in India, which will be secured from our testing partner Mylab Discovery Solutions. You can help these kits reach many more by donating for the cause or by adopting a kit. Click here to join the fight.

Although lockdown restrictions have eased all over India and some states have opened their borders for the movement of vehicles, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu and few states in the Northeast will not allow inter-state movement under Unlock 1.0. By Upasana Singh

After more than two months of observing strict lockdown restrictions to prevent the spread of COVID-19, the Centre announced plans to unlock the states in planned phases. The inter-state movement has been allowed for now but few states like Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu that have reported increasing number of Coronavirus cases, and those in the Northeast have made the decision to continue restriction on the movement of inter-state vehicles even after the end of the fourth phase of the lockdown.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Mumbai Lockdown Volunteer (@coloursofmumbai) on

Until June 30, inter-state travel by road as well as air and trains will remain prohibited in Maharashtra. For people in Tamil Nadu, restrictions on inter-state bus transport, metro, and suburban train services will continue. It is mandatory to have an e-pass issued by the authority whilst travelling between different zones or crossing the border.

In the Northeast, Meghalaya and Mizoram have also decided not to allow inter-district and inter-state movement of vehicles without e-passes till June 6.

Meanwhile, states such as Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, and Rajasthan have followed the Centre’s advisory and opened their borders for inter-state travel under Unlock 1.0, also termed as Lockdown 5.0. In Delhi, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has announced that borders will be closed for the next week. Further decisions to reopen will be taken into consideration after one week.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Wandering Tamizha (@wandering_tamizha) on

Punjab has lifted inter-state movement restrictions as well, but the state government has made the use of COVA app and self-generated e-pass compulsory for travellers. In Chhattisgarh, inter-state travel will remain prohibited without requisite permission from authorities.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister, Shivraj Singh Chouhan has announced that from June 8, people will not need e-passes to travel between states in their personal vehicles, however, the decision on resuming inter-state public movement transport will be taken only after June 7.

Related: Maharashtra Extends Lockdown Till June 30 But With Eased Restrictions