Bahamas, Barbados, Puerto Rico and more — the Caribbean islands are calling out to travellers again starting this month. So get ready to soak in some sunshine. By Tanvi Jain


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Shaun (@surf.sun.stew) on

As the world is slowly easing restrictions on COVID-19 lockdown, and tourist hotspots are welcoming travellers with new safety norms, a new addition to the list is the Caribbean Islands, some of which have already reopened, and some are scheduled to reopen later this monthIt was because of prompt action against the pandemic, that the Caribbean Islands were able to maintain a low number of Coronavirus cases and quickly head to a gradual recovery. 

Barbados will reopen on July 12, after Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley recently confirmed that no new COVID-19 cases have been recorded in the last 35 days. However, all the required health measures will be put in place for the safety of travellers 


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Travel Expert |Writer| Author (@reneetsangtravel) on

Similarly, Aruba is scheduled to reopen in stages from July 1. “The country will officially reopen its borders and once again welcome inbound travel for visitors, from Bonaire and Curaçao on June 15, the Caribbean (with the exception of the Dominican Republic and Haiti), Europe, and Canada on July 1, 2020, followed by visitors from the United States beginning July 10, 2020,” a Government press release mentioned. 

Moreover, Bahamas is also scheduled to reopen from July 1, as per the announcement made earlier by Prime Minister Dr Hubert Minnis. Puerto Rico, which has already allowed its citizens to visit the beach, restaurant and retail stores, will reopen for tourists in four phases from July 15. 


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by @travel_feelingz on

Furthermore, Turks and Caicos Premier Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson had also earlier announced the reopening from July 22. The Dominican Republic is scheduled to reopen from July 1, with strict safety measures in place. 

However, Caribbean nations that have already opened their doors earlier in June include Jamaica, St Lucia, St Barth, Antigua and Barbuda, and US Virgin Islands. While Cuba will reopen for tourism in August, Havana and the mainland will still remain off-limits. 

Related: Go USA Brings To You A Virtual Road Trip Across All 50 States